PDA

View Full Version : Open loop / closed loop

Bart
03-21-2007, 04:14 PM
I am a bum at Maft Pro and Supra's compaired to some of the people on this network...so please be gentle with me.

I've been reading lots about closed and open loop.
I've installed a LC1 WB O2 in my 1989+ supra with a 1992 ECU.

Other mods are:
Maft Pro, Boost control, T3 turbo, piped turbo/exhaust manifold, 3" exhaust, electric fan, head studs and Kametic gasket, HKS waste gate and blowdown valve, cooleze inlet air piping, stock fuel system.

If I have understood what I read...With the original O2 sensor wired to the ECU, we can only tune for cold start and WOT. To force the ECU into some sort of emergency mode, I should disconnect the original O2 and wire the LC1 to the Maft Pro ( as noted in other posts ). I would then be running in open loop (AF Tracking) all the time.

If the above is true, my questions are:
1 - When the ECU is in open loop, does it still self adjust to hold emergency mode settings? In other words, how often will I have to re-tune?
2 - I have plans on setting boost at 8 psi and aux boost to 15 psi. Will the stock fuel system allow this? Anyone guess at what boost levels I will be able to reach?
3 - I read about a 22 Kohm resister to be installed to make the ECU believe that there is still an O2 sensor hooked up. Can someone expand on this for me.
4 - What is the ultimate AF ratio we are all trying to achieve?

All answers are welcome,
Thanks in advance.
Brad

drjonez
03-22-2007, 10:12 AM
I am a bum at Maft Pro and Supra's compaired to some of the people on this network...so please be gentle with me.

not a problem. a willingness to learn is the key!

I've been reading lots about closed and open loop.
I've installed a LC1 WB O2 in my 1989+ supra with a 1992 ECU.

Other mods are: